Documents from the LBJ Library dated between May 18, 1967 and June 6, 1967, leading up to President Johnson’s issuance of Executive Order 11357 on June 6 – the order which folded the newly created National Traffic Safety Bureau and the newly created National Highway Safety Bureau, into one entity using the National Highway Safety Bureau’s name, to be part of the Federal Highway Administration. The Bureau was made independent of FHWA by action of Transportation Secretary Volpe in March 1970 and then re-created as a National Highway Traffic Safety Administration by the Highway Safety Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-605, December 31, 1970).