Eno Now Accepting Applications for 2018 Thomas J. O’Bryant Fellowship

January 26, 2018

The Eno Center for Transportation is now accepting applications for its Summer 2018 Thomas J. O’Bryant Transportation Policy Fellowship. This fellowship provides a high-quality professional development opportunity for aspiring transportation specialists. Successful applicants will gain in-depth knowledge of transportation policy and practice under the guidance of Eno staff.


  • Assisting in the development of Eno publications and products. Fellows play an integral part in the research and development of transportation research documents, policy recommendations, and events. Projects cover all modes, sectors, and levels of government within transportation.
  • Contributing to the premier transportation publication: Eno Transportation Weekly (ETW). Fellows cover transportation-related hearings on Capitol Hill, analyze legislation, and develop think pieces and other commentary for ETW.
  • Bridging the gap between research and policy. Fellows participate in Eno’s outreach through participation in conferences, briefings, and private meetings.
  • Gaining in-depth knowledge of U.S. policymaking. Fellows engage the policymaking community through association with the Board of Directors, Eno education programs, and briefings to policymakers.


Duration of the appointment is 10 weeks (start/end dates to be determined by successful candidate and Eno staff).


Fellowships are awarded to bachelor’s degree, master’s degree, and Ph.D. students working in transportation, engineering, housing, urban planning, or related degrees. Fellows must have already developed research skills and a strong writing ability.


Fellows are paid a stipend of $2,000 per month.

To Apply

Submit cover letter, resume, and scholarly writing sample (2-3 page selection) by March 9, 2018 to Alice Grossman at agrossman@enotrans.org. First round interviews will be held in late March.


2017 – Alice Grossman, Georgia Institute of Technology
2016 – Francesca Sallinger, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2015 – Elizabeth Bastian, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2014 – Benton Heimsath, University of California, Los Angeles
2013 – Marla Westervelt, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2012 – Amy (Cavaretta) Dunham, University of Florida

Search Eno Transportation Weekly

Latest Issues

Happening on the Hill