Eno Announces 2017 LDC Dinner Award Winners

On June 8, 2017 the Eno Center will hold its 25th annual Future Leaders Development Conference Dinner in Washington DC. The dinner is the culmination of Eno’s Future Leaders Development Conference (LDC). The conference gives 20 of the nation’s top graduate students in transportation a first-hand look at how national transportation policies are developed. Students apply to the program early in the year, and those selected as “Eno Fellows” come to DC for a week of meetings with federal officials and leaders of business and non-profit organizations.

This year the Eno Center for Transportation will honor Jane Garvey – former Federal Aviation Administration Administrator and Deputy Administrator of the Federal Highway Administration – with a Lifetime Achievement Award and Robert Prince – former Vice President of AECOM with the Wilbur S. Smith Friend of Eno Award.

Jane Garvey is currently the North American Chairman of Meridiam Infrastructure. She has held a variety of senior positions in both the public and private infrastructure sectors. Most recently, she served on the Transition Team for President Barack Obama where she focused on transportation policies and related challenges facing the new administration. Prior to that, Ms. Garvey served as the 14th Administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration and also served as the Acting Administrator and Deputy Administrator of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA).

Robert Prince is currently with Gannon Consult and is the retired Vice President of Transit at AECOM. Prior to this, he spent 25 years at the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority starting as a bus operator and working his way up to general manager. He served many years as Chairman of the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO). Mr. Prince is a regular figure at Eno’s various leadership courses and events.

Eno is also introducing a new award this year – the Eno Thought Leader Award. In 2016, Eno created the award to recognize exemplary achievement in the field of transportation research and scholarship. It acknowledges individuals that have a demonstrated body of rigorous, timely, and impactful work. The inaugural award will be given to Martin Wachs, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Urban Planning at the Luskin School of Public Affairs, UCLA.

Martin Wachs spent 25 years teaching at UCLA, acting as Chairman of the Department of Urban Planning for 11 years. After retirement from the university, Dr. Wachs became the Director of the Transportation, Space, and Technology Program at the RAND Corporation in Santa Monica. He is now semi-retired and teaches courses and conducts research at UCLA and RAND.

Reception and Dinner

June 8, 2017
Location: Marriott Metro Center, 775 12th St. NW, Washington, DC 20005

Interested in learning more? Visit the LDC conference page here.

Register here

Search Eno Transportation Weekly

Latest Issues

Happening on the Hill