This summer was a busy one for Eno’s Center for Transportation Leadership (CTL). For the first time, the Transit Mid-Manager (TMM) Seminar was held three times. An integral part of Eno’s career ladder, TMM is designed for rising leaders at the mid-management level in the public and private sectors of the transit industry.

For one week, a cohort of transit professionals from across the country comes together for leadership, management, and communication training. The class has the opportunity to hear from local senior-level executives in the form of a leadership panel and spend a day at the host transit agency touring the facilities.

Boston Cohort

TMM is held in cities across the country and always hosted by the local transit property. This year’s sessions were held at:

  • Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA) in Boston
  • Regional Transportation District (RTD) in Denver, Colorado
  • Greater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority (RTA) in Cleveland, Ohio

In total, the 2017 sessions graduated 89 participants. The Boston session occurred in July with 33 participants, Denver in August with 34 participants, and Cleveland in September with 22 participants.

Denver Cohort

The Cleveland class spent the entire week at the Cleveland RTA headquarters (a first for Eno’s CTL). Typically, classes just spend one day at the transit agency. This was a new element to the course and one that allowed the host agency to be more involved. It also gave the participants an opportunity to get to better know RTA and its operations.

Eno would like to thank MBTA, RTD, and Cleveland RTA for welcoming TMM to their cities and agencies. TMM would not be such a unique opportunity for our participants if not for local agency hosts.

Other highlights from our TMM sessions included our keynote speakers. Tom Prendergast, Executive Vice President and Chief Strategic Officer, STV and former President of MTA-New York spoke in Boston; Carolyn Flowers, National Transit Practice Leader, AECOM, former acting administrator for FTA and CEO Charlotte Cats spoke in Denver; and Howard Permut, Eno Senior Advisor and former President of Metro North Railroad spoke in Cleveland. Each keynote speaker shared leadership insights and lessons learned from their distinguished careers in transit.

Cleveland Cohort

We are wrapping up the 2017 CTL course line-up with Eno’s annual Transit Mid-Manager Seminar Level II, which was held in New Orleans last week. Designed for graduates of TMM Level I, it builds upon skills and concepts learned during the first course.

Eno is already looking ahead to its 2018 TMM courses which are being held at the following locations:

  • June 25-29 Kansas City, MO; hosted by the Kansas City Area Transit Authority
  • August 20-24 in San Diego, CA; hosted by San Diego Metropolitan Transit System
  • October 15-19 in Jacksonville, FL; hosted by the Jacksonville Transportation Authority

If you are interesting in applying to one of our sessions or would like to nominate someone, registration is open until March 30, 2018. More information can be found on the Eno website.

Congratulations to our 2017 graduates!


Boston Cohort

Karla AlemanLACMTA

Teana BushDART

Yunxiang ChenHNTB Corporation

Ronald ClashMaryland Transit Administration

John DaileyC-TRAN

Leuziloide DePinaMassachusetts Bay Transportation Authority

Sean EganDistrict Department of Transportation

Lisa FazzingoMTA – Long Island Rail Road

Orlando GallegoVIA Metropolitan Transit

John GasparineWSP

Ayelet HirschkornNJ TRANSIT

Yoko IgawaFoothill Transit

Steve JovelSanta Clara Valley Transportation Authority

Alvin KusumotoLACMTA

Inmar LizamaMaryland Transit Administration

Kathryn LueckenChapel Hill Transit

Andy LySouthern California Regional Rail Authority (SCRRA)

Anthony MarroMetro-North Railroad

Bob MedcraftC-TRAN

Christopher MuhichKing County Metro – Link Light Rail

James NeeMASCO

Nick PittmanChapel Hill Transit

Tim QuayleSan Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency

Patrick RichmondMassachusetts Bay Transportation Authority

Melissa RosenLACMTA

Sherman RothwellJacksonville Transportation Authority

Lester Spitler TriMet

Toby TatomAC Transit

Tamieka ThibodeauxMassachusetts Bay Transportation Authority

Keith Welch IIDes Moines Area Regional Transit Athority

Martin WhiteMTA Bus / New York City Transit

Angie WilliamsJacksonville Transportation Authority

John XieFoothill Transit


Denver Cohort

Matthew AndersonJAUNT, Inc

John AndohDutchess County Transit

Vivian BakerNJ TRANSIT

Ryan BonkChicago Transit Authority

Linda BussRegional Transportation District

Katrina DennyChicago Transit Authority

Kari DerderianLos Angeles Department of Transportation

Matthew DickensAmerican Public Transportation Association

ODell DraperKnoxville Area Transit

Nancy GroendalInterurban Transit Partnership/The Rapid

Fayma IshaqAccess Services

Sam KaurOrange County Transportation Authority

Daniel KoenigFederal Transit Administration

Kim KolinTriMet

Carolyn KreslakeLACMTA

Erik LeachMetropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority

Brian LeeLos Angeles Department of Transportation

Emily McMahonDes Moines Area Regional Transit Authority

Eric MillerRegional Transportation District

Lilia MontoyaLACMTA

David MorrisMaryland Transit Administration, Light Rail

Skylar MottRegional Transportation District

Paulina OrchardFederal Transit Administration

Margaret RoblesGold Coast Transit District

Daniel SchnedUSDOT, FTA

Jeremy SteinemannNortheast Corridor Commission

Mike SullivanC-TRAN

Thomas SzokeNew Jersey Transit Rail

Albert ThomasAnn Arbor Area Transportation Authority

Meghan UmukoroNJ TRANSIT

Mila VegaChapel Hill Transit

Brett WallaceWSP

James WilsonTransit Authority of River City


Cleveland Cohort

Lawrence BakerKansas City Area Transportation Authority

Josh BakerAMTRAN

Sean BarrettGreater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority

Shonda BrelandLACMTA

Martha D’AndreaCity of Los Angeles Department of Transportation

Jennifer GolechCapital Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Erin HockmanDART

Jordan HoltWashington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority

Vaneshia HoustonGreater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority

Mark HybnerAPTA

Gerald MasonGreater Cleveland Regional Transit Authority

Todd McElravyPort Authority of Allegheny County

Amanda McGillLane Transit District

Cynthia McMonaglePort Authority of Allegheny County

Zeda RiggsNashville Metropolitan Transit Authority

Rhyan SchaubTrimet

Pamela ScruggsSan Mateo County Transit District

Yvette Suarez – LACMTA

Cliff ThorneOrange County Transportation Authority


Luis VelasquezSan Mateo County Transit District

Shawnese WilliamsTriMet

Shelley WolfPort Authority of Allegheny County