Eno’s 2016 LDC Dinner shaping up to be another memorable evening

On June 9, 2016 the Eno Center will hold its 24th annual Future Leaders Development Conference Dinner in Washington DC. This dinner is the culmination of Eno’s Future Leaders Development Conference (LDC). The conference convenes in Washington DC every June and gives 20 of the nation’s top graduate students in transportation a first-hand look at how national transportation policies are developed. Students apply to the program early in the year, and those selected as “Eno Fellows” come to DC for a week of meetings with federal officials and leaders of business and non-profit organizations.

Eno Board Member Jerry Premo with the 2015 Eno Lifetime Achievement Award Winner, Jane Chmielinski.

Eno Board Member Jerry Premo with the 2015 Eno Lifetime Achievement Award Winner, Jane Chmielinski.

This year the Eno Center for Transportation will honor Mortimer L. Downey – longest-serving Deputy Secretary and Chief Operating Officer of the U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) – with a Lifetime Achievement Award and Phillip Washington – CEO of Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority with the Wilbur S. Smith Friend of Eno Award.

Mort Downey (Photo courtesy of www.volpe.dot.gov)

Mort Downey has worked in nearly every aspect of the transportation industry. After serving in the Coast Guard, he joined the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey before heading to Washington D.C. to serve as the first staffer of the newly created House Budget Committee. From 1977 to 1981, he served as USDOT’s Assistant Secretary for Budget and Programs under President Carter. He also worked with the New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) for 12 years. Most recently, Mr. Downey served as Chairman of the Board for the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority.

Since 2001, Mr. Downey has been a transportation consultant, working on a wide variety of institutional, financial, and organizational issues for public and private clients both foreign and domestic. He holds a B.A. in political science from Yale University, a master’s degree in Public Administration from New York University’s Wagner School of Public Service, and completed the Advanced Management Program at the Harvard Business School.

Mr. Downey’s involvement with Eno goes back over fifteen years. He was an active member of Eno’s Board of Directors up until last year. He still actively participates in Eno events and activities.


Phil Washington (Photo courtesy of LA Metro)

Phillip Washington, with the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, is a newcomer to the West Coast. He previously held the position of Assistant General Manager and ultimately CEO with Denver’s Regional Transportation District (RTD).

Mr. Washington is a 24-year veteran of the United States Army where he held the rank of Command Sergeant Major, the highest non-commissioned officer rank an enlisted person can achieve. He holds a B.A. in Business Administration from Columbia College and an M.A. in Management from Webster University. He is current chair of the American Public Transportation Association.

Mr. Washington had no previous transportation experience before joining RTD. He worked his way up to the position of CEO and was successful in implementing FasTracks, one of the largest voter-approved transit expansion programs in the country. Under his management, RTD completed their West Line Rail eight months earlier than expected.

Mr. Washington was a member of Eno’s very first Transit Senior Executive class and is a former Eno Board member. He has been actively involved with the Eno Center for a number of years and has been a constant advocate of all of Eno’s leadership development programs.

Past Lifetime Achievement Award Winners:

  • Former Chief Operating Officer of the Americas for AECOM, Jane Chmielinski
  • Former President, Chairman and CEO of Norfolk Southern, David Goode
  • Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation, Norman Mineta
  • Former President of the American Public Transportation Association, William Millar
  • Former Massachusetts Secretary of Transportation, Fred Salvucci
  • Former Chairman and CEO of the New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Peter Stangl

Notable Eno LDC Alumni

  • Mr. Greg Cohen, President and CEO, American Highway Users Alliance (Class of 1999)
  • Ms. Trish Hendren, Executive Director, I-95 Corridor Coalition (Class of 1999)
  • Mr. Tom O’Brien, Executive Director, Center for International Trade and Transportation, California State University Long Beach (Class of 2000)
  • Mr. Robert Ritter, Office of Safety, Federal Highway Administration, US Department of Transportation (Class of 1998)

The Eno LDC Class of 2016 can be found here.

Dinner Details


June 9, 2016
Renaissance Hotel Washington DC Downtown


June 9, 2016
Congressional AB
Renaissance Hotel Washington DC Downtown


Full pricing and sponsorship opportunities can be found here.


Search Eno Transportation Weekly

Latest Issues

Happening on the Hill